The trouble with travel blogging…

As most of you will have noticed, I’ve been absent from this blog for quite some time now. I left it at a point where I had a lot of work on for my degree back home, and then also had to face the stress of moving country once again to head back to England. Of course, my time in Spain has sadly now come to an end, yet I feel I still have so much more to say.

The problem with writing a travel blog is that the more you travel, the more you have to write about, and yet the less time you have to do the write ups… I have absolutely no regrets about spending as much of my time as possible on the road exploring Andalucía (it will forever be one of the greatest adventures of my life!), but I’m still a little sad that I didn’t find the time to keep up to date on documenting my experiences, for my own sake more than anything. (That said, if I had been posting updates every day it would’ve likely meant that I had nothing better to do with my time, and therefore probably wouldn’t have been having any experiences worth writing about.)

So, although we’re months down the line now from my last post, I still plan on filling in the gaps and completing the Postcard Scrapbook section of this blog at the very least; I’d like to have something to look back on in years to come that will remind me of the little details of travelling that often get forgotten about over the course of time.

I started out blogging for this very reason. The trouble is, projects like this so often catch up on you and become a ‘chore’, which defeats the point of what (unless it’s your full-time job) should only really be an enjoyable hobby. As soon as I started writing ‘post x blog’ on my to-do list, it became one of those things that I just resented and then avoided doing. So I stopped posting, deciding instead that I only wanted to write when I felt inspired and motivated to do so. And that’s why I’ve waited till now. I now feel I can get on with documenting my adventures from the past few months, working in my own time without the pressures of self-set ‘deadlines’, and will hopefully actually enjoy it again.

Anyway, I just wanted to give a bit of an explanation for anyone who may see my future travel updates and wonders why I’m posting about Semana Santa 6 months late… But also to remind any bloggers who are feeling disheartened or stressed about juggling various commitments not to let your blog become a chore! Relax, enjoy your time abroad (as that’s the most important thing!), and write when inspiration hits; and remember that your blog is more for YOU than anyone else anyway!

giphy

2 thoughts on “The trouble with travel blogging…

  1. This is spot on. I mainly blog so in the future I can look back and remember the things from the past. Catching up with travel posts is SO hard, especially when you’re having too much fun doing the travel itself 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

